What I’ve Been Reading

January 17, 2010 at 9:30 am 2 comments

I haven’t updated this in a while, so I might actually be missing titles!

Wintergirls – Have I mentioned lately how much I love Laurie Halse Anderson? This was a great read and I’m glad I have it in my collection, though it’s not seeing a ton of circulation lately. I didn’t think the end rang false, though I can see that other readers might have thought it was a lot of buildup for a sudden ending.

Cut – This one has been wildly popular everywhere I’ve worked, so I’m really glad I finally sat down and read it. I found myself identifying pretty strongly with the main character and I was pleased with what I saw as a pretty realistic depiction of self-injury and a spiraling mindset, though I can’t speak to the accuracy of life in a juvenile rehab center.

Take the Cannoli – I love Sarah Vowell from This American Life. Like David Sedaris, her voice now rings in my head when I’m reading her stories. I ended up giving this one to my dad for Christmas. I’d recommend her for Sedaris fans, This American Life fans, and anyone who loves a well-crafted memoir-y short story.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , .

What I’ve Been Reading Nonfiction Matters

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lpearle  |  January 17, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    One complaint/concern I’ve heard from parents about Wintergirls is that it could read as a “how to” manual. I didn’t quite see that, myself. You?

    Reply
    • 2. pandanose  |  January 18, 2010 at 5:45 am

      I suppose I could see where that criticism comes from, but I didn’t see it myself either. Even the pro-ana websites mentioned aren’t mentioned explicitly–as in, no urls or anything. I think it’s less of a how-to manual than, say, Little Brother is.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

