Some thumbs

April 12, 2007 at 10:21 am Leave a comment

It occurred to me a couple of days ago that I watch kind of a lot of movies. Thus, my initial premise for reviewing movies as I watch them–or at least giving each review its own post–might have been not the greatest idea. I’m also hoping to read a lot more, so hopefully book reviews will come a little faster. Anyway, here’s everything I’ve watched since Blades of Glory, briefly.

The Departed. Though much better on a big screen, this is still a really fucking great movie. Even without my love of all things Mark Wahlberg, there’s just some really great acting, dialogue, and plot. Absolutely earned that Best Picture.

Thelma and Louise. I have to say I was a little disappointed in this one, probably mostly because of all the hype surrounding it. I definitely appreciated that both our heroines got a little butcher by the end of the movie, but all in all it just didn’t feel like the quintessential female empowerment film I’d been led to believe it was. Stellar comic relief by Brad Pitt, though.

Shortbus. …Is totally amazing and it’s sort of hard to even add anything to that. Well, other than that my roommate and I have fantastic powers of remote control, and the few times we had to pause we managed to create some delightful stills.

Jesus Is Magic. I felt really let down by the whole thing. I mean, I was fully prepared to like Sarah Silverman. I enjoyed her bit in The Aristocrats, and although I still haven’t seen her new show I liked some of the teasers I saw for it. But the musical numbers were pretty uniformly terrible, and she’s just not a polished performer. Her set didn’t flow particularly well. She has some really funny material, sure, but you have to wade through her shock value material to get to it. I think she has a lot of potential, but if the movie is at all representative of her stand-up, she has a long way to go.

Margaret Cho: Assassin. Now Margaret Cho, on the other hand, is totally brilliant and flows really well. I don’t even think this is the best of her stuff that I’ve seen (I can never remember which I’ve seen and which I haven’t, but I definitely laughed harder at another routine) but she’s so consistently funny. Even her facial expressions are hilarious.

Boogie Nights. Another film with a lot of buildup around it, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Julianne Moore is always impressive, and I love Paul Thomas Anderson as a rule. And, yknow, Mark Wahlberg. Great cast, hilarious concept, a little hard to buy Wahlberg as a California kid since he’ll never lose his Southie accent, but otherwise a fine film.

Female Masculinity, by Judith Halberstam. Not a movie, but I don’t really feel like I have enough to fill out a whole post. I went into this ready to be skeptical–from some rumblings last year, I know that she’s had a complicated relationship with trans* communities. But she addressed that really well, I think, explaining both her earlier writings and her critics pretty evenhandedly. All in all, it’s a good book. I liked learning more about Radclyffe Hall and Production Code era films. And I’m glad there’s someone prominent out there who’s willing to recognize butch as an identity rather than just an outdated label. But beyond that, I can’t really come up with much to say.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

New! Improved! Just as much sodium as before! Seventeenth Summer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


