I didn’t really like Freak Show.

February 21, 2008 at 9:21 pm 2 comments

I seem to be in the minority on this one. Shrug.

Anyway, I’ve also been reading His Hands, His Tools, His Sex, His Dress: Lesbian Authors Write About Their Fathers, edited by Catherine Reid and Holly K. Iglesias.  It’s quite good so far, and it reminded me that when I was fourteen or fifteen, a very good grown-up friend gave me copies of Passages of Pride (there’s a subtitle, but LibraryThing gives me two different ones, and I can’t really figure out if there’s a difference) by Kurt Chandler and Every Woman I’ve Ever Loved: Lesbian Writers Write About Their Mothers. (Sound familiar? Yup. Same editors. Companion pieces, if you will.)

Passages of Pride struck me at the time as a little too “Life is really hard! But also inspirational!” but Every Woman I’ve Ever Loved I, well, loved. It resonated with me because it painted a picture of a sexuality I was only beginning to realize was mine as just part of life.  Not a perversion, not a one-dimensional definition, not a life sentence.  And I think it’s important for young adult collections, particularly the health and sexuality chunks, to include works that portray adulthood as complicated, and flawed, and messy, but liveable.  Not sugar-coated, not cautionary.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , .

What’s in your magazine rack? I hate poetry.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  February 21, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Are you saying that Freak Show doesn’t succeed in the way that these other books do, or are these two things unrelated?

    Reply
  • 2. pandanose  |  February 22, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Oh, no, the two things are pretty much unrelated. I felt like I had to say something about Freak Show, but I can’t come up with anything very substantial.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


