What’s in your magazine rack?

February 21, 2008 at 9:09 pm 5 comments

I’ve been thinking a lot about my knee-jerk reaction to having a tattoo magazine in a young adult library collection, and the more I think about it the more I’m convinced it was that specific title, not the concept of tattoos in general. The magazine in question (was it called simply Tattoo?) had a lot of great pictures, but no articles or columns. All in all, it read a lot like a catalogue, and I wouldn’t stock my library with the latest Sears or Eddie Bauer offerings either. (Although catalogues are free, and certainly of interest to teenagers, I have a hard time coming up with the dreaded Educational Value in their pages. Not to mention that catalogue subscriptions multiply faster than rabbits, and nobody wants her library overwhelmed by junk mail.)

But it got me thinking about the magazines I read now, and the ones that interested me when I was a young adult. After our class discussion, I’m more convinced than ever that “adult” magazines should be included in a young adult collection. In a public library, I’d vote for multiple copies–some in adult periodicals, some in the young adult room.

So if you were stocking your collection, which of the titles you read today (presumably “adult” titles) would be included in your young adult offerings? Here’s my list:

Bust
The Advocate (I actually only read Curve, but I think it’d be nice to have a magazine that includes both women and men)
Rolling Stone
Adbusters
Time
Popular Science

I’d also try to keep my library well-stocked with local rags–BostonNow and the Metro, because they’re current without being too dense, and The Phoenix and The Weekly Dig, because they’re awesome.

Entry filed under: Education. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Leave your parents at home I didn’t really like Freak Show.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annajcook  |  February 21, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I love Bitch too, but probably the title would be too controversial for most YA collections :(.

    How about The Believer too?

    P.S. I think we’re totally in the same grad program 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. pandanose  |  February 21, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I’m less familiar with Bitch, and have never heard of The Believer. Enlighten me?

    (We’re definitely in the same program. Even if I didn’t check out your blog, I see IP addresses for each comment.)

    Reply
  • 3. Linda  |  February 21, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Of course I want to say, “yay” to the concept of expanding what one might first think as “right” for a collection of magazines for teens.

    I also want to focus on the idea of not necessarily going with a first instinct or gut reaction. While at first it might seem like the instinct is right with analysis it’s possible to find that there are reasons behind the instinct that have anything to do with good service to teens.

    It seems to me that any librarian that asks themselves why they make each decision is on the way to being a good librarian.

    Reply
  • 4. annajcook  |  February 22, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I like Bitch because it does really good popular culture analysis.

    The Believer is a literary magazine started by David Eggers (who, along with the teen editorial board, puts together the Best American Non-Required Reading anthology every year). Their website is:

    http://www.believermag.com/

    I don’t read it faithfully, but Nick Hornby does a wonderful column in it, “Stuff I’ve Been Reading,” which has been anthologized in two slim volumes (The Polysyllabic Spree and Housekeeping vs. The Dirt).

    Brookline Booksmith carries back issues of The Believer, if you’re interested in browsing ;).

    Reply
  • 5. annajcook  |  February 22, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Oh! And what about The Onion . . . what teenager doesn’t like satire?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


