What I’ve Been Reading

April 16, 2008 at 9:34 am 1 comment

I’ve been making an effort to read all the 2008 Best Books (and ultimately Quick Picks, too). It’s a lot of fun so far, and not at all a struggle. Some of these I finish in a single day, or between several commutes. Here’s a quick run-down of the ones I’ve finished so far:

This Is What I Did – I read this in literally an hour. The quick read was a little unsatisfying to me, but might be more satisfying to a reluctant reader. I certainly felt for the main character, but I cring when reading books where adults behave badly around kids.

Twisted – Wonderful book. I definitely want to read more of this author now. I was very pleased to find a male narrator and a non-cheesy plot line. (Is it just me, or do books aimed at boys often have more overt “messages?”)

Flight – Not my favorite. I liked Part-Time Indian a lot better. Maybe I’m not into magical realism leanings? Whatever it was, I did a lot of skimming on this one.

Thirteen Reasons Why – Amazing. Very intense, and thrilling, and sad, and moving. I’m so impressed that this is Jay Asher’s first book. The teens are incredibly realistic, and I think this is a very effective way to portray suicide and depression. And a hopeful ending! What more could you ask for?

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , .

Good Girls What it means to be a soldier

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  April 22, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Thirteen Reasons Why is next on my list – I have a stack of books and that ones at the top.

    I hope you’ll keep updating us on your success and thoughts on the titles from the lists.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


