What I’ve been reading

April 26, 2008 at 2:48 pm 1 comment

As promised, more updates on my progress through the 2008 Best Book list. I’ve also decided to include the off-list reading I’ve been doing, as more and more of it is sneaking my way in. I have to say, I’m extremely grateful for my Young Adult Literature class. It’s turned me back into the voracious reader I used to be, the one who would actually rather curl up with a book than dick around on the interwebs.

Monster – I read this for my other class, and I was severely underwhelmed. I found the screenplay format very emotionally detached, and overall I just felt disappointed with the superficial treatment of issues like race and the justice system. Maybe Myers included just enough to get a good discussion going, but I prefer a little more meat in my reading.

Are You Alone in the House? – I started this one because Richard Peck will be speaking at a conference I’m attending on Monday, but I have to admit I read the first half and skipped forward to the last few pages. (It’s kind of liberating, not finishing a book you despise.) No matter how realistic a depiction of the times (and, sadly, a lot of our times, too), the attitude of the police chief toward a rape victim made me too furious to keep reading.

Because I’m Worth It – What can I say? I’m totally addicted to Gossip Girl novels.

A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier – This was a very tough book to read. It’s intense and moving and disturbing and thoughtful, and I really recommend it. I haven’t cried while reading a book in a long time, but I came very close yesterday as I finished this one.

Evolution, Me & Other Freaks of Nature – I also highly recommend this one. It’s a very quick read but engrossing–I was barely able to put it down and finished it in two sittings. I particularly appreciate a very real description of a teenager struggling with her religion and self-identity. I find that too often books involving young people and spirituality can get preachy and forced, but this felt realistic to me.

Boy Toy – I’ve decided this will be one of the three books I booktalk on Tuesday (along with Twisted and This Is What I Did, all on the theme of boys haunted by their reputations) and I sincerely hope I can do it justice. The ending feels a tad bit rushed after such a well-crafted couple hundred pages, but that didn’t detract much for me. And when a book manages to genuinely surprise me in the end, well, that’s just gravy.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

The face in the mirror ETV

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  May 2, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I just have to say, I’ve never gotten the whole Monster thing. People rave about the book and I was really uninterested when I read it. It seemed gimmicky and just not very real. Glad to know someone else is questioning it as I felt like I was missing something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


