What I’ve been reading

May 17, 2008 at 11:26 am 1 comment

Beige – I’m interested enough to be curious about Castelucci’s other books, but honestly I was a little underwhelmed. I enjoyed the twist on hip-teen-with-dull-adults, but the Deep Emotional Growth seemed a little forced.

The Harlequin – I friggin’ love these books. I’m waaaaaaaay down the queue for Blood Noir and seriously considering re-reading the whole series. I was a little worried because recently some of the books have been, oh, Insane–too much plot, too little time–but this one was much better. Also, wereswans. Swans!

Looking for JJ – Meh. None of the “twists” were that unpredictable. And I’ll admit that sometimes I have a harder time reading books by British authors–it can be hard for me to get into the voice.

One Whole and Perfect Day – Ditto with Australian authors, apparently, who I hear in my head as British anyway. I really don’t like books that are just so sad for the bulk of the pages and then reward you with, well, one whole and perfect day at the end. Dude, that is so not going to last for these characters. I did appreciate one of the plot twists, though, which I predicted Maybe a page in advance.

Dragon’s Keep – Initially I thought this really wouldn’t be my kind of book. I’m not typically into medieval dragon stuff–I prefer more contemporary fantasy, or maybe just weirder fantasy. But I stuck with it and ultimately all the stuff with the dragons is pretty interesting.

I Like It Like That – I sort of wonder if it’s even worthwhile to keep mentioning the Gossip Girl books, but, well, I read it.

Blokhedz (vol. 1) – I couldn’t finish this, which is saying a lot for a graphic novel (comic?) this slim. I just couldn’t get into the world at all, and when a cop suddenly had this weird mechanical extend-o arm without any explanation, I gave up for good.

Mystik Lake – I felt a little like I was reading Seventeenth Summer. No, not that bad, just in the sense that I kept waiting for something to happen. And then something happened, and I was all, “Oh. Huh.”

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Expanding the arts: rockin’ through the 700s What I’ve been reading

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sharry  |  March 9, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    I really enjoyed Dragon’s keep too! Though i haven’t read any of the other books on your list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


