What I’ve Been Reading

June 21, 2008 at 5:35 pm Leave a comment

So distressed today to find that my local branch library doesn’t have Saturday hours during the summer. What the eff!

Leonardo’s Shadow: Disappointing. I’m not sure if it was because I started this one so shortly after I Am Rembrandt’s Daughter (perhaps I was just burnt out on historical fiction about famous artists?) but I didn’t even finish this. (Which, as faithful readers will know, is very rare for me–I usually feel obliged to slog through, even if I’m not really enjoying myself.) I was drawn in at the beginning, but by about fifty pages in I no longer really cared to find out who the servant boy truly was or what the medallion could mean.

Train Time: Another non-finish, but one I’d like to come back to eventually. This is a title by my favorite college professor and I’m sure I’ll enjoy it sometime, but I decided my brain didn’t really feel like academic writing. I should note that his work is extremely accessible, though–even if you’re not into theory or academia, it’s entirely possible that you’ll love his off-beat topics and the amazing depth of his research.

A Thousand Splendid Suns: Truly stellar. Certainly up to the caliber of The Kite Runner. Just beautiful prose, great characterization, and a shot of very contemporary history in there for good measure. I’ll also add that the early pages of this one contain a perspective on the burqa that was totally new for me, and made me think a bit more on the subject that’s gotten so much press in western feminist circles.

A Wolf at the Table: Overall, disappointing. I love everything else I’ve read by Augusten Burroughs, and this one just really isn’t up to snuff. It’s clear that his issues with his father run deep and perhaps this book was something he desperately needed to finally write, but this simply isn’t writing on par with, say, Running with Scissors. I will say that he pretty accurately captures the infallible self-centeredness of being a child, but after a point he just seems really whiny. There are some chilling passages where the reader ges a glimpse of just how scary that father was, but sadly you’re a little too bored with the kid to even care that much.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , .

What I’ve been reading What I’ve Been Reading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


