Review: Company of Liars

August 10, 2008 at 10:58 am 2 comments

This is another ARC I picked up in Anaheim, but I don’t think it’s necessarily a YA title. The back cover informs me it’s a reinterpretation of Canterbury Tales, which may or may not be true–I wouldn’t know, because I’ve never read any Chaucer.

This was a great read. I was a little surprised when it started, because I’m not typically interested in anything set in the middle ages. (With the exception, of course, of Doomsday Book.) But I kept reading, and found myself really getting into the story.

I have to say I’m hoping the final copy has a different cover. The one I have has a little square on the front reading “Nine travelers. Nine secrets. One by one, their stories unfold. Who is the liar?” But that sort of gives a bit away (and here I am doing again to you) that doesn’t develop into pretty late into the book, which I found annoying. I was also more than a little irked by the ending. It’s one of those books where you’re reading along quite happily, enjoying all the character development and seeing where things go at a leisurely pace, and then in the last twenty pages the thing ends kind of abruptly.

I’d still recommend it, though, particularly if you are a fan of medieval fiction.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: .

Games We Play: Nintendo Gameboy What I’ve Been Reading

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. linaria  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Chaucer is off-putting because of the language. But the Canterbury Tales is full of sex, cussing, weird and hilarious social situations, and that makes it really worth it…for me.

    Reply
  • 2. pandanose  |  August 12, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Well, then, you might like Company of Liars–definitely sex and cussing, although the overall tone is a bit more sad than hilarious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


