What I’ve Been Reading

August 29, 2008 at 5:50 pm 2 comments

Hey! I was on vacation! Now I’m back! I didn’t make an announcement before I left as usual because, well, I didn’t think any of you would really care. Or possibly notice.

Anyway, I got a lot of reading done, and it was sort of a mixed bag since I ran out of reading once I got to my parents’, read something my brother had left behind, and then made an impulse purchase at the airport. In addition, I continue to make my way through my big ol’ stack of advanced reader copies from Anaheim (and from my generous children’s lit professor).

Hawkes Harbor: I’m not sure why, but I had been operating under the belief that S.E. Hinton had died in the seventies or something. This is clearly untrue. Fans of the novels that made her famous might be a little disappointed by this offering, as I was. It’s sort of… um… weird. There’s a vampire. The time period jumps around a lot, which gets more than a little confusing. And a fair bit of it takes place in a mental institution. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but this isn’t exactly the quality of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

When You Are Engulfed in Flames: My brother’s assessment of this one was pretty much correct–it’s fine, but not really his best stuff. It’s much more entertaining if you’re familiar enough with Sedaris to hear him narrating things.

Babylon Rolling: I really couldn’t put this one down. At first I was sure I would hate the way the narration style changes depending on the character who’s the focus of the chapter, but it actually works quite well. One small critique: for a novel that does a certain amount of pondering about race, it was a little hard for me to tell the ethnicity of a few of the characters. (Was that the point? Am I just dumb? Entirely possible.) Anyway, it’s about five families on the same New Orleans street just as Ivan is hitting, and now I simply must check out Pretty Little Dirty.

The Last Street Novel: This was my impulse purchase in the Boise airport. And if I’d been a little more careful about hanging onto the receipt, I could’ve gotten half my money back the next time I fly in there. (In my defense, I was flying on a redeye to Boston.) I decided to give street lit a second chance after my unpleasasnt reaction to Dirty Game, and I’m really glad I did. Although apparently Tyree is retiring from the genre, I’m planning to try out more of his work.

Half Moon Investigations: Finally! A children’s book I didn’t hate! In fact, it was fantastic. I was extremely wary at the outset–a precocious child who sounds like a hard-boiled detective! How adorable!–but I got into things pretty quickly. It also manages to sneak in a message about reputation, assumptions, and walking in someone else’s shoes for a change. I’m not surprised this author has a best-selling series.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

What I’ve Been Reading What I’ve Been Reading

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alden  |  August 29, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    babylon rolling is super good IF YOU ARE NOT EVACUATING LIKE THE CHARACTERS IN THE BOOK ARE. then it starts to suck. and just make the rest of your life worse. that’s why i’m not finishing the second half until sometimes when im done evacuating to texas. ps. i’m evacuating to texas. and my copy of babylon rolling is signed.

    Reply
  • 2. pandanose  |  August 30, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Ah, yes. That would be a good point. I was sort of unaware of the whole hurricane thing y’all have going on when I started reading it. And then our mother told me about it. So it’s probably a good thing I didn’t give my copy to her when I was done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


