What I’ve Been Reading

September 15, 2008 at 3:29 pm Leave a comment

Apologies again for the lack of blogging. Though I’ve at least ordered a new laptop, I’m still waiting for it to be delivered in all its shiny goodness, so I’m at the mercy of the Sig Fig. And while she’s plenty merciful, I can’t really steal her laptop for as long as I really want all the damn time.

On the plus side, I’ve gotten a lot of reading done.

Nobody Does It Better: I still can’t really figure out why I like the Gossip Girls books so much. The characters are kind of vapid, the whole brand name thing really irritates me, and I can’t relate at all to posh Manhattan living. But when I was having a crappy day involving leaving work to take my cat to the vet (don’t worry, Napkin’s fine), my trip to the library quickly involved getting the next book in the series.

Bliss: This is no longer a particularly advanced review, since I waited til now to read my copy from Anaheim, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. At first I was a little annoyed by how short the chapters are, since that meant a ton of black pages with nothing but a short line from a classic TV show or something from the Manson trials, but I got used to that eventually. I enjoyed the way Bliss has a good head on her shoulders without being preachy. And though I’m not a fan of paranormal things thrown into otherwise normal settings, I actually found the main storyline creepy in a good way.

Perishable: A Memoir: I heard Dirk Jamison reading some stories on This American Life a couple of weeks ago, and decided to check out his memoir. This is probably the first time I’ve ever done this, although I should take a hint from their good taste in music (I discovered Andrew Bird thanks to NPR, and All Songs Considered reaffirmed my love of Ratatat) and do it more often. A very very quick read and a satisfying one at that, although being a little on the short side made me wish I could know more. Guess I’ll just have to watch the documentary.

Sweethearts: I read this cover to cover in a single sitting on the couch. It was fantastic. The storyline reminded me of a more adult version of This Is What I Did. I felt sort of unsettled and unresolved at the end, but I guess that’s sort of the point. Guess I should read Story of a Girl now.

Pretty Little Dirty: Another fantastic read from Boyden. (Well, I guess this is actually her first book. But I read Babylon Rolling first. So.) Mildly depressing coming of age novel, but, again, sort of the point.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

What I’ve Been Reading What I’ve Been Reading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


