What I’ve Been Reading

October 4, 2008 at 12:07 pm Leave a comment

I find that lately I always have at least three books going. Which isn’t usually the way I operate–I prefer to give all my attention to one and then move on to the next. But I’ve been checking out books both from the library I work and from my neighborhood branch, and perpetually forgetting to bring one or the other with me somewhere, so I seem to keep picking up more.

(On an unrelated note- when I was still stealing Sig Fig’s computer, one night I spent my entire free time working on stuff for my practicum, and I was thoroughly frustrated that I couldn’t get any sound to work and I really, really just wanted to listen to this song. (I can’t seem to embed the video. Sorry.)

Rainbow Boys: Even though I was a tiny bit put off by what I read as a slightly heavy-handed vibe in Getting It, I still wanted to start this series, and we just got shiny new copies in our library. I enjoyed it, although of course I’d rather find a lesbian equivalent–the female characters felt a lot like the token lesbian couple in Queer as Folk. Again, this book feels a little too message-heavy, but I suppose a lot of teens could probably use the messages in their own lives. As someone who came out almost ten years ago now, it’s becoming harder and harder for me to remember what it was like back then.

Butch Is a Noun: Everyone go out and read this book immediately. By the end I was skimming a little–it got a tiny bit repetitive–but so much of it resonated so deeply with me that my chest started to ache. It’s a wonderful journey into the contradictions, joys, and pains of being a butch. I will say (as I think Bergman understands hirself) that the book spends a lot of time relating butches to femmes, which hasn’t been my experience–as I think I’ve mentioned before, I don’t think my identity as butch is defined by the presence or lack of femmes in my life, and I think they’re identities that are perfectly capable of existing independently of one another. Still, it’s a fantastic read.

Racing the Past: This was another one I read while waiting for an interminably slow Wilson page to load on a district network connection. It was good enough that I wanted to keep reading, but it was another one that felt a little heavy on message. It’s inspiring, though, and I like that the idea of racing the bus evolves from a point of pride to a true discovery of an athlete’s passion.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , .

What I’ve Been Reading Games We Play: NES

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


