What I’ve Been Reading

October 22, 2008 at 1:33 pm 2 comments

I’m trying really hard to get on these postings before I’ve read more than five or so, because at that point I’m pretty sure I start leaving out books. It remains difficult because lately I seem to be reading at least three different books at any given time. Meh.

Interworld: I started reading this one while waiting to observe classes at the elementary school. I like Neil Gaiman, and the concept hooked me pretty quickly, but I have to admit I felt a little unsatisfied at the end. The plot had all the makings of an epic, but I ended the book feeling like I’d just finished watching a TV special instead of a season of a great show. (Which is funny, since the authors apparently first envisioned this as a TV program.)

Story of a Girl: This one came highly recommended after I couldn’t put down Sweethearts, but honestly I just wasn’t as into it. It’s a fine book, but I never had that Must. Keep. Reading. feeling that I had all through reading Sweethearts.

Miracle’s Boys: This was on the summer reading list of the high school where I work. It was a quick read and sort of unfulfilling. A tiny bit heavy-handed, I thought–it seemed like it might be on the list to try to hook readers who like urban stories with lots of action, but it turns out to be a much more thoughtful, sensitive read.

Easter Rising: I couldn’t finish this one. I was really into it at the start, as I often am when I read anything set somewhere familiar to me (in this case, Boston, though largely Southie, with which I’m much less familiar), but eventually things just started to seem really repetitive. Not the greatest story-telling, though it’s fun to read about all the crazy big-name acts the author saw for free.

Little Brother: A fantastic read. Everyone should read this book. Occasionally my eyes glazed over while I was in the more technical bits, but I’m happy Doctorow included them–they’re a big part of the way this book feels chillingly real. This storyline is just a fraction of an inch away from our current reality, and that is scary. Anyone interested in homeland (in)security, surveillance, technology, or just really smart teens should find a copy immediately.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , .

Review: Nick and Norah hit the big screen What I’ve Been Reading

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alden  |  October 22, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    much agreement on ‘little brother’ – lots to like about it, not the least of which are its unflinching anti-racism and shockingly reasonable treatment of young people and sex. awesome book- i grabbed an advance copy- g. and i both read it in idaho this summer. quite exciting, and i thought the technical stuff was mostly neat. i also thought it was awesome that doctorow stuck in quite a few very pointed suggestions for other books to read, in a way that wasn’t cumbersome.

    haven’t read the neil gaiman of which you speak, but honestly i never find his books that awesome. i think that the sandman comics are perhaps the best run of any comic book ever. he took that thing all sorts of places, generally unexpectedly. solid, solid books. but his novels i find much less appealing. they seem like retreads to me, which is surprising considering how original and bold his comics fee. american gods in particular felt padded out with uninteresting details that slowed down the story, and had lots of characters making unexpected and hard to understand choices.

    Reply
  • 2. pandanose  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Ah yes. I should clarify that I liked Neverwhere a lot, and American Gods only for the first fifty pages or so. In fact, I didn’t even read the whole thing. I’ve yet to read Sandman–actually really far behind in my comics & graphic novels education, with the exception of what we read growing up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


