What I’ve Been Reading

November 2, 2008 at 10:56 am Leave a comment

Boy Meets Boy: Given how much I enjoyed both Naomi and Ely’s No-Kiss List and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, I was a little surprised by how much I disliked this. That isn’t to say I didn’t finish the book–I did finish it, and I wanted to see what happened to the characters, but I hated the writing. The world was too contrived, Paul’s speech patterns were totally unrealistic, and the whole thing just felt a little too… precious, I guess.

The 9/11 Report: I decided to pick up the graphic novel version of the report since I’d never read the original. While I like the concept–it would be great if more dense but important reads could be converted to graphic novels, as some artists are beginning to do with the classics–I found myself pretty frustrated with the content of the report itself.

Ghost World: I was hoping I would like this more than the movie (which I found long and boring), but I didn’t.

Kabul Beauty School: I checked this one out when one of my high schoolers did, hoping I’d get a chance to discuss it with her later. (She’s what I call a secret reader–someone who’s clearly popular and cool, but seems to also be a voracious, if quiet, reader.) It’s a great read and a really interesting angle from which to approach Afghani culture, but I found myself so frustrated at times with the author. (I guess this shouldn’t come as much of a surprise, given the reaction from some of the subjects of the book.)

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , .

What I’ve Been Reading What I’ve Been Reading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


