What I’ve Been Reading

November 20, 2008 at 9:54 pm Leave a comment

As Nature Made Him: The Boy Who Was Raised as a Girl: Totally riveting, and a somewhat appropriate choice given that today is Trans Day of Remembrance. I’d highly recommend it to anyone interested in gender theory, particularly medical and psychological responses to gender. (And, for those like me, who sometimes struggle with non-fiction–it’s very accessible, possibly because the author also writes for Rolling Stone.)

How I Live Now: I feel like I’ve heard great things about this one, since it won the Printz and all, but it fell pretty flat with me. A big problem was the sort of breathless run-on quality of the narration, which I found annoying and kind of hard to read.

Deadline: Chris Crutcher was one of my favorite authors growing up, and I’m pleased to find that his most recent work is great–and still resonates the way his other titles did when I was younger. I got a little teary at the end, though. Be warned.

Twilight: What’s left to say about the Twilight series that hasn’t already been said? I’m totally hooked, and was greatly dismayed to find that our most recent book order–one that I placed myself, for shame!–included books 1, 3, and 4. D’oh! So I had to request New Moon from the public library, and eagerly await reading it this weekend. (Though I’ve been ordered to read Bastard out of Carolina first, so I will.)

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , .

What I’ve Been Reading Welcome to the new site!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


