What I’ve Been Reading

December 16, 2008 at 3:42 pm Leave a comment

Well, gosh, now that someone linked me and my page views are up to, like, two a day, I should really post more often, huh? I haven’t been reading as voraciously lately because I got my wisdom teeth out and spent the whole time watching things on my laptop. Also, whining. But I’m about to go to Idaho for ten days, meaning both that I won’t be posting in that period (probably) and that I’ll be reading a whole lot. Because there’s not much else to do in the particular part of Idaho I’ll be visiting.

My Most Excellent Year: This is, in fact, the best book I’ve read all year. Hands down. This is the way a YA novel should be crafted. The format was creative without being annoying (I couldn’t read TTYL long enough to find out if there’s ever a plot), the characters were genuine, and I love reading fiction set in Boston. Also, incredibly insightful about the lives of teenage gay characters without being preachy or unrealistic.

New Moon: Well, at least something happens in this one in the first 300 pages, which in hindsight is more than I can say for Twilight. I really don’t understand why I can’t stop reading these books. It’s sort of creepy. I don’t like any of the characters, the writing is extremely heavy-handed and manipulative, and the plot (something major is happening! Oh, never mind, let’s go to Italy) is, um, kind of terrible. Am I going to read the next one? Yes. Yes, I am.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , .

What I’ve Been Reading What I’ve Been Reading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


