What I’ve Been Reading

April 3, 2009 at 6:36 am Leave a comment

Eyes Like Stars: Couldn’t get into it, didn’t really try. It’s incredibly refreshing to give yourself permission to stop reading a book you don’t really like. I think my problem was the amount of the beginning that’s written in dialogue–I’ve never much cared for reading plays. (Also, I just looked at Amazon, and the commercial cover for this book would make me never pick it up. The galley cover I have is a little bland and text-heavy, but at least it’s not off-putting.)

Zoya’s Story: An Afghan Woman’s Struggle for Freedom: I’m really working on a theme here. After reading Meena, a lot of the narrative elements here were very familiar, but it’s still a moving memoir.

A Scanner Darkly: I really enjoyed the movie adaptation (although I think that creepy animation style is totally creepy, and pretty unnecessary for this story) and thought I’d read the book, because I know Philip K. Dick novels are often way better than the horrible movies they spawn. (I haven’t actually read the short story Paycheck was based on, but it has to be better than that movie. And no matter what anyone says, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? is a thousand times better than Bladerunner. That has to be one of the most overrated movies of all time.) Anyway, the book was enjoyable, and the movie actually follows it quite closely, which was surprising to me–the only real diversion was that the Hank reveal was more surprising in the film, I thought.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , .

Engagement Through Gaming: Part One What’s a Picture Worth?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


