What I’ve Been Reading

May 10, 2009 at 12:47 pm Leave a comment

Bleeding Afghanistan: This may tie up my streak of books on Afghanistan, at least for a while. Much of this I already knew–at some point my brother gave me a pretty good rundown of America’s involvement in Afghanistan pre-9/11–but it was good to get real details on some of the aspects I knew less about, like Karzai’s rize to power. I think the really crucial sections of this book shed much-needed light on the way Americans, both conservatives and liberal feminists, have exploited Afghan women (and the burqa in particular) without actually providing lasting aid or support.

He’s a Stud, She’s a Slut: Another solid but quick read from Jessica Valenti. As with Full Frontal Feminism, I don’t really feel like I’m the target demographic for this book–I already identify as a feminist, and I was aware of all these double-standards before I turned any pages. But I’m glad someone is trying to enlighten all the folks out there who probably are feminists and just don’t know it yet.

Kissing the Bee: My boss asked me to read this, and I ended up finishing it in something ridiculous like an hour. I guess it must have been good, huh? (I skimmed all the science-y parts. Just wasn’t feeling it.) If you’re looking for a quick escapist high school romance, this is sort of that.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , .

Upcoming HGSE Event Engagement Through Gaming: Theory into Practice

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


