What I’ve Been Reading

May 31, 2009 at 9:38 am 1 comment

Kind of a slow reading week or two. Gotta work on that. My ARC pile isn’t getting any smaller!

Animals Make Us Human: I love Temple Grandin’s work, but this time around I decided to just read up on the chapters that were most relevant to me–cats and dogs. I was particularly interested to read her opinion of alpha rolling (which seems like a hugely bad idea to me, though her description of using it very gently with puppies to assess personality, not to establish dominance, is really intriguing to me) and hear a bit about frustration in animals. I also learned that it makes sense that Moneypenny is her lovable self, because apparently black cats are more sociable in general. Who knew?

Things I Learned about My Dad (in Therapy): I’ll admit that I skimmed a couple of the essays toward the end, but overall I loved this read, and completed it in a single chunk. Made me think about my own dad the whole time.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , .

The Trouble with Meg Cabot Engagement Through Gaming: Teamwork

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dave johnson  |  May 31, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Nice post!

    Was wondering if you’d be kind enough to write up a review of any of those books or some other ones you’re read before for publication on our blog?

    We have a very vibrant book review site visited by over 2 thousand unique book-loving people.

    Have a look and leave a comment on the blog, I will get back to you.


    Dave
    http://www.jroller.com/bookreview

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


