What I’ve Been Reading

July 23, 2009 at 1:10 pm 3 comments

It’s been one of those months, apparently.

The Catcher in the Rye: Note to self: never read this on the Harvard campus again. Slash, in public. People seem to think that seeing you reading Catcher in the Rye is some kind of invitation to idiotic conversations. I love J.D. Salinger, but I’m aware that my love for him is extremely tortured. Also, this is by far his weakest work.

Escape: A friend recommended this to me. It’s not terribly well-written, but goodness is it compelling. I was struck a lot by the number of things Big Love seems to have lifted from real life, although if this book is any indication it didn’t lift any of the truly terrifying parts of life in the FLDS. Note to self: next time, get a recommendation for something lighter. Fluffier, even. Maybe puppies and unicorns.

The Vast Fields of Ordinary: I heard some people on BBYA talking about this title and realized I still hadn’t read my galley from Midwinter, so I read it in maybe two days. The ending was abrupt and annoying, but the book still really spoke to me. Though it would be nice to have a proofread version, since many of the galley hiccups were distracting.

The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing: Another I own and reread when I’m feeling particularly tortured. Dog this is a beautiful book.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , .

Why Does History Have to Be So OLD? Wait and See Pudding

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matheikal  |  July 23, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Is The Catcher Salinger’s weakest work? I doubt.

    Reply
  • 2. pandanose  |  July 23, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    You doubt but… don’t want to talk about it? I’d certainly place it behind Nine Stories and Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters! and Seymour. I’d probably need to reread Franny and Zooey again to say definitively. But I do think it gets undue credit, given the strength of the rest of his work.

    Reply
  • 3. laura  |  July 28, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Agreed re: Salinger. I have a particular fondness for Zooey, although as soon as I say that, I remember that I also have a particular fondness for Raise High the Roofbeam. . . and Seymour. . . and Nine Stories. And I also love The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing. Apparently I am similarly tortured.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


