What I’ve Been Reading

October 30, 2009 at 8:37 am Leave a comment

My reading has become a bit haphazard these days, as I now drive for my commute (rather than taking public transportation) and don’t usually have time at work to read (which I sometimes had in the afternoons on slow days).

Nonetheless, I seem to be getting an interesting mix in, as I catch up on some newer adult titles and try to read some of the new (or new to us) YA titles I order for the library.

The Road: I started reading this one over a year ago, and I suppose news of the upcoming film inspired me to start again. It was a quick, gripping read. I’m looking forward to seeing whether the movie captures the intensity of the book. (And I should totally read No Country for Old Men, too.)

Water Baby: I picked this up as an ARC about a year ago and never got around to reading it, but since I’ve decided to offer galleys on a trial basis in my library I wanted to read this one to make sure it was age-appropriate. I found it… interesting. I don’t know–I’d be really interested to hear what other people thought about this, particularly anyone interested in disability issues.

Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation: This one was recommended by one of our English teachers, and I’d been curious ever since I heard the adaptation was coming. I can’t recommend this title highly enough. The art is fantastic, the narrative remains faithful to the original, and the foreword from Bradbury raises a question I’ve been mulling over ever since: what book would you want to never forget?

Stitches: I hope I can get students reading this one, because I found it extremely compelling. Fantastic artwork and a twist I definitely didn’t see coming. More than one, actually. Recommend this one to graphic novel fans and anyone interested in outsider coming-of-age stories.

Manhood for Amateurs: Despite the fact that my brother recommends Kavalier and Clay just about every time I talk to him, I still haven’t read any of Chabon’s work besides Summerland (which I loved). I read a chapter of this newest offering somewhere–possibly the New York Times? and got hooked, so I decided to check out the rest of the book. I’m not quite finished but I love it. It’s making me think a lot of my dad, and there’s a really fantastic chapter on the geography (and cartography) of childhood.

Entry filed under: books. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Boy Books and Girl Books What I’ve Been Reading

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blasts from the Past


